Maps for Black ops2 / Blops2 maps / Maps for Black Ops2 / Best maps in Black ops2 / Favourite maps in Black ops / Fave maps in Black ops / New maps for Black ops2 / Black ops2 DLC / Map expansion packs Black Ops 2 / New DLC Black ops 2 / BLOPS2 New maps / Black ops2 new dlc

Right so I have had the game long enough to look at the maps objectively. I knew I wouldn’t like them all. I also think that in general they are better than mw3’s efforts, yet worse than mw2 and Black ops2 one’s.

So here are the Good, the Bad and the Ugly  not sure why I put in that link but I saw it on TV for the first time in ages the other day and forgot how good it was :

The Good :

Overflow

Great urban engagements in the flooded streets of Peshawar, Pakistan.

Overflow Map Layout

Slums

Great close quarters engagements and tough choke points in the run down section of Panama.

Slums Map Layout

Reminds me of Havana from BOPS1.

Standoff

Classic Call of Duty engagements in a border town between China and Kyrgyzstan.

Standoff Map Layout

Yemen

Urban streets of Yemen with tight alleys that result in close quarter engagements.

Yemen Map LayoutThe Bad

Maps I just don’t like :

Turbine

Located in the steep hills of Yemen with wind turbines scattered around the landscape.

Turbine Map Layout

Man I hate this map. I am so bad at it too!

Aftermath

Aftermath

Ruined downtown Los Angeles with close engagements. WORST map in the game. I don’t even want to show a pic of the map inside. Makes me depressed. Reminds me of DOWNTURN – More Information » on modern warfare 3. 
Which for me was the worst map in mw3. Looking back there were some decent maps on that game. In the end I loved resistance ( after a rocky start ) .

The Ugly :

The rest of the maps I don’t hate but don’t really like also. They are as the title suggests just plain ugly :

Meltdown

Meltdown

Battle over the cooling tower and surrounding facilities of a Pakistan nuclear power plant.

Cargo

Cargo

Located in Singapore. Lots of close quarters engagements.

Lastly the jury is still out on : Drone/Express/Plaza/Hijacked/Carrier and Raid.

They aren’t bad maps but don’t have any magic. Drone for example doesn’t seem to work in any game mode I have played apart from Search and Destroy. People argue that Search maps should be tight and exciting. But bigger ones can sometimes add more scope for planting and avoiding enemies. It is weird that crap maps can be good search ones tho. I loved Invasion on mw2 for search but didn’t really like the map in general.

It is worth saying that I have barely touched Free-for-All so I really can’t comment on how good the maps are for it. I’d assume the smaller maps are more apt to be honest.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

~ by richardpmurfin on December 2, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
